Provincial Partner
Search our website

What we do

Field trips
Insect counts
Ontario Insects newsletter
Butterfly atlas
Moth atlas
Contribute Records
Student symposium
Research grant

About the T.E.A.

Our mission
Collecting code

About insects

General info
Insects of Ontario
Endangered species
Gardening for butterflies
Rearing Presentation

Contact us



W. John D. Eberlie Research Grant 2018 - $400 Award

This award is in memory of past TEA president W. John D. Eberlie. Anyone can apply, whether or not they are presenting at the Student Symposium.

Eligibility: To be awarded to a graduate or undergraduate student at an Ontario university studying insects or arachnids.


  • The recipient must use the funds for travel, such as for field research, visits with collaborators, attending scientific meetings and inspecting specimens in out-of-town museum collections.
  • It is recommended that the recipient present their work at the TEA student symposium in March. If this is not possible, the student will submit a short paper of their research to be published in the Ontario Insects newsletter within a year of receiving the award.
  • Previous winners are eligible for the award but if two applications are very close in value, preference will be given to the student who has not won before.

Deadline for application: mid-March of every year. The results will be announced within a month. The application (Word format) is here.

Past Recipients:

2018 - Kyra Kathleen Lightburn, University of Guelph
2017 - Catherine Scott, University of Toronto
2016 - Beverly McClenaghan, Trent University
2015 - M. Lukas Seehausen, University of Toronto
2014 - Susan Frye, University of Toronto
2013 - Bryan Giordano, Brock University
2012 - Tyler Flockhart, University of Guelph
2011 - No award
2010 - Andrew Young (University of Guelph) and Michelle Locke (Carleton University)
2009 - Daniel Antwi-Amoabeng, Brock University
2008 - Crystal Vincent, Carleton University
2007 - Jen Perry, University of Toronto
2006 - Aynsley Thielman, Brock University
2005 - No award
2004 - David Punzalan, University of Toronto
2003 - Melanie Youngs and Tara Stephens, University of Guelph
2002 - Charmaine Condy and Amanda Soutar, University of Toronto
2001 - No award
2000 - Aaron Deans, University of Toronto