ONature
Provincial Partner
Search our website

What we do

Meetings
Field trips
Insect counts
Ontario Insects newsletter
Butterfly atlas
Moth Atlas
Prairie butterfly atlas
Contribute Records
Student symposium
Research grant
Publications
Home

About the T.E.A.

People
History
Collecting code
Membership / Donate

About insects

General info
Insects of Ontario
Books
Endangered species
Gardening for butterflies
Rearing Presentation

Contact us

Links

2019 Butterfly counts / Odonate counts

Counts are a great opportunity to improve your identification skills. If you don't feel your level of expertise is high enough, you can always check with the count organizer. Often you can go along with a more experienced person. I hope you'll join at least one in your neighbourhood.

On some of the counts refreshments or camping facilities may be provided. Don't hesitate to contact the organizers if you have any questions. They would appreciate you letting them know as soon as possible if you will be participating, so they can plan more efficiently.

Dates are subject to change! Please check with the count organizer in advance. Also, at some counts people meet first thing in the morning, and then disperse; at others, people meet at noon; at still others, people meet at dinner.

Everyone is welcome, whatever your skill level. Note that many of these counts are done for the North American Butterfly Association and that there may be a nominal charge for participating. Please be prepared for the count activity with sunscreen, water, hat, food, and other items suggested by the count organizer. This list has been compiled by Carolyn King.

 

This year we have 22 butterfly counts and 8 odonate counts (listed below). There are also a few counts which were held in 2018 but as yet we have not heard back from count organizers for 2019.

 

2019 BUTTERFLY COUNTS (last updated March 15)

Format of this list is: Date (Rain date, if any), Location, Contact, Telephone, Email

  • Mon. June 17, Sandbanks Prov. Park, Yvette Bree, (613) 393-2565, yvette.bree@ontario.ca
  • Sat. June 22, Rice Lake Butterfly Count (south of Peterborough), Val Deziel, (705) 868-5374 (daytime), val.deziel@natureconservancy.ca
  • Sat. June 22 (23). Muskoka Bala, Al Sinclair, (705) 645-2848, sinclair@muskoka.com (meet at 9:30 a.m. at Ragged Rapids Hydro Generating Station parking lot: latitude 45.018764, longitude -79.689492)
  • Sat. June 22 (23), Pinery Provincial Park & N.Lambton (meet at Visitor Centre at 8:30). Brenda Kulon, (519) 869-2833, kulon@cogeco.ca Please register ahead if possible. Register at the above number so as to gain entry to the provincial park.
  • Sat. June 29, Otter Valley (Port Burwell, on Lake Erie), Joe Stephenson, (519) 874-4028, joestephenson11@mac.com
  • Sat. June 29 (30), Belfountain (west of Caledon), Bill McIlveen, (519) 853-3948, wmcilveen@sympatico.ca
  • Sun. June 30, Oshawa, James Kamstra, (905) 985-4497, james.kamstra@aecom.com
  • Mon. July 1, TEA Toronto East, Carolyn King, 905-720-2784, cking8000@gmail.com
  • Wed. July 3 (contact ahead to confirm), Presqu'ile Prov., Park, David Bree, (613) 475-4324 x225, david.bree@ontario.ca
  • Wed. July 3, Algonquin Park, Hwy 60 (east side: lat-long 45.5667° & -78.4°), Colin Jones, (705) 927-0336, colin.jones@ontario.ca
  • Sat. July 6, Long Point, Adam Timpf, cell (519) 429-4147, adam.timpf@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 6 (7), Manion Corners (near Ottawa), Jeff Skevington, (w) (613) 759-1647, (h) (613) 720-2862, jhskevington@gmail.com
  • Sun. July 7, Hamilton (9 am meet at the church at SW corner of Concession 8 and Kirkwall Road), Bill Lamond, (519) 756-9546, bill-lamond@hotmail.com
  • Sun. July 7, Sunderland (north of Oshawa), James Kamstra, (905) 985-4497, james.kamstra@aecom.com
  • Sat. July 13, Toronto Centre, John Carley, (416) 930-6987, johnrcarley@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 13, Haliburton Highlands, Ed Poropat, (705) 457-3018, ed.barb@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 13 (14), Cambridge (rare Charitable Research Reserve, starting 9 a.m. at Lamb's Inn, 1679 Blair Road, to be led by Jenna Quinn jenna.quinn@raresites.org. Register online or call the office at 519-650-9336
  • Sun. July 14, Rondeau Prov. Park, Laura Penner, (519) 674-1772, Laura.Penner@ontario.ca
  • Sat. July 20 (21), Petroglyphs Prov. Park (near Peterborough), Jerry Ball, 574 Douglas Ave. Peterborough, ON K9J 4L1, (705) 745-3272
  • Mon. July 22 (24), Fenelon Falls (north of Lindsay), Dan Bone, 705 887-4691, dan.bone13@gmail.com
  • Wed. July 24 & Thurs. July 25, Science North (near Sudbury), Jacquie Bertrand, (705) 522-3701 ext. 280, bertrand@sciencenorth.ca
  • Fri. July 26, Carden Alvar (east of Orillia) Butterfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or online at www.conservationvolunteers.ca). Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Tues. July 30, Pelee Island Butterfly Count, Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com

 

2019 DRAGONFLY COUNTS (last updated March 15)

Format of this list is: Date (Rain date, if any), Location, Contact, Telephone, Email

  • June - August (multiple dates), Murphys Point Provincial Park (north of Kingston, near Perth), Bev Edwards, (613) 284-1637, bave@sympatico.ca.
  • Thu. July 4, Algonquin Odonate (meet at the Algonquin Park Visitor Centre at km 43 of Hwy. 60), Peter Mills, peter.b.mills@hotmail.com
  • Sat. July 6, Haliburton Highlands, Ed Poropat, (705) 457-3018, ed.barb@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 6(7), Hamilton Odonate Count, 9 am meet at the church at SW corner of Concession 8 and Kirkwall Road, Brenda Van Ryswyk, (905) 336-1158 ext. 2282 (normal office hours), brendavanryswyk@gmail.com
  • Thurs. July 11, Minesing Wetlands (west of Barrie) Dragonfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or www.conservationvolunteers.ca. Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Thur. July 25, Carden Alvar (east of Orillia) Dragonfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or www.conservationvolunteers.ca. Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sat. July 27 (29), Lake Dore (near Pembroke) Odonate, Christian Renault, 613-717-3142, Meet at the Melissa Bishop Park. (45°38'13.12"N, 77° 04'53.44"W), crenault@gmail.com
  • Wed. July 31, Pelee Island Dragonfly Count, Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.comSat. July 7(8),

 

 

Butterfly Counts Not Heard from Yet for 2019 - Best Guess as to Dates

 

Sat. July 6, Awenda Provincial Park (near Penetanguishene), Tim Tully, (705) 549-2231 X 225, awenda@csolve.net

Fri. June 28 (July 2): Lake Dore (near Eganville), Jean Brereton, (613) 625-2263, jbrereton@xplornet.ca

Thurs. July 18 (19), Hog Island (near Pembroke), Jean Brereton, (613) 625-2263, jbrereton@xplornet.ca

Sat. July 6, MacGregor Point Prov. Park (near Port Elgin). Kathleen Chayer, 519-389-6232. fompp@bmts.com

Sun. June 30(July 7), Skunk's Misery (southwest of London, meet at 8:30 at Newbury Hospital parking lot), George Prieksaitis, (647) 401-2038 (cell),(905) 469-9946 (home), george.w.prieksaitis@ca.ey.com

Sun. July 28 (Aug. 4). Clear Creek (NE of Rondeau Provincial Park). (meet 8:30 am at 11110 Furnival Road in Rodney, Ont), George Prieksaitis (647) 401-2038 (cell) (905) 469-9946 (home), george.w.prieksaitis@ca.ey.com

Sat. July 6, Windsor, Tom Preney, (519) 966-5852, tpreney@citywindsor.ca

 

 

DATE TBA, Royal Botanical Gardens (Burlington) Butterfly Count. Meet at RBG main centre, 680 Plains Rd W, Burlington. Lindsay Barr (905) 527-1158 x257 (or 1-800-694-4769, same ext.), lbarr@rbg.ca

 

Odonate Counts Not Heard from Yet for 2019 - Best Guess as to Dates

Fri. June 22. Odonate count of Royal Botanical Gardens, Burlington. This is part of the RBG bioblitz, so visit the RBG website after April 30 to register for that.

 

2018 Bioblitzes (last updated April 9)

Bioblitzes in Ontario are be listed at the Ontario bioblitz site, but the site is incomplete at the moment. Selected bioblitzes are listed below.

  • May 11-13 and September 21-23. ROM-sponsored bioblitzes in Durham Region.
  • June 9-10: Insect Bioblitz at Killbear Provincial Park on eastern Georgian Bay, two hours drive north of Toronto and 30 minutes north of the town of Parry Sound. The park is looking for experts/skill naturalists and is offering free tent-only camping to participants on Friday and Saturday nights. If you are interested in helping to blitz the insects of Killbear, please contact Martha Martens, martha.martens@ontario.ca. / daytime: 705-342-5492 ext. 2304.
  • June 22-23. RBG/Cootes to Escarpment EcoPark System BioBlitz in the Hamilton area, with headquarters of the bioblitz being the Royal Botanical Gardens. See https://secure.e-registernow.com/cgi-bin/mkpayment.cgi?state=3065
  • Noon July 21 to Noon July 22, Point Pelee National Park is holding the Pelee BioBlitz to celebrate and commemorate Pelee's 100th birthday The BioBlitz event will include things like expert guided surveys, amateur hikes, speakers, workshops, volunteer opportunities, kids activities etc. TEA people are welcome to come as an expert and be included in our schedule, or come instead as a regular participant or solo expert. Contact Heidi Brown (Heidi.brown@pc.gc.ca / daytime 519-322-5700 ext. 3333) as soon as possible to be included in the planning.
  • August 17-18: Murphys Point Provincial Park, located on Big Rideau Lake, approximately 20 minutes south of Perth.The Park is looking for taxon experts/skilled naturalists and is offering free camping to participants, along with food and water. If you are interested in volunteering to help as a taxon expert, lead an event or volunteer in some other way, please contact Tobi Kiesewalter, Sr Natural Heritage Education Leader, tobi.kiesewalter@ontario.ca.

 

------------------------------------------------

Top