You are visitor since
April 10, 2012
ONature
Provincial Partner
Search our website

What we do

Meetings
Field trips
Insect counts
Ontario Insects newsletter
Butterfly atlas
Contribute Records
Student symposium
Research grant
Publications
Home

About the T.E.A.

Our mission
History
Collecting code
People
Membership

About insects

General info
Insects of Ontario
Books
Endangered species
Gardening for butterflies
Rearing Presentation

Contact us

Links

Insect counts 2016

Counts are a great opportunity to improve your identification skills. If you don't feel your level of expertise is high enough, you can always check with the count organizer. Often you can go along with a more experienced person. I hope you'll join at least one in your neighbourhood.

On some of the counts refreshments or camping facilities may be provided. Don't hesitate to contact the organizers if you have any questions. They would appreciate you letting them know as soon as possible if you will be participating, so they can plan more efficiently.

Dates are subject to change! Please check with the count organizer in advance. Also, at some counts people meet first thing in the morning, and then disperse; at others, people meet at noon; at still others, people meet at dinner.

Everyone is welcome, whatever your skill level. Note that many of these counts are done for the North American Butterfly Association and that there may be a nominal charge for participating. Please be prepared for the count activity with sunscreen, water, hat, food, and other items suggested by the count organizer. This list has been compiled by Carolyn King and Alan Macnaughton.

 

 

2016 BUTTERFLY COUNTS (last updated July 4)

Format of this list is: Date (Rain date, if any), Location, Contact, Telephone, Email

  • Thurs. June 2 (planned for that date, but now CANCELLED), Algonquin Park (East Side), Colin Jones, (705) 755-2166, colin.jones@ontario.ca
  • Mon. June 20, Sandbanks Prov. Park, Yvette Bree, (613) 393-2565, yvette.bree@ontario.ca
  • Sat. June 25, Otter Valley (Port Burwell, on Lake Erie), Joe Stephenson, (519) 874-4028, joestephenson11@mac.com
  • Sat. June 25 (26). Muskoka Bala, Al Sinclair, (705) 645-2848, sinclair@muskoka.com (meet at 9:30 a.m. at Ragged Rapids Hydro Generating Station parking lot: latitude 45.018764, longitude -79.689492)
  • Sat. June 25 (26), Pinery Provincial Park & N.Lambton (meet at Visitor Centre at 8:30), Brenda Kulon, (519) 869-2833, kulon@cogeco.ca
  • Sat. June 25, Rice Lake Butterfly Count (south of Peterborough), Val Deziel, (705) 868-5374 (daytime), val.deziel@natureconservancy.ca
  • Sat. June 25, Sault College woodlot (Sault Ste. Marie), Mark Olivier, (705) 450-6679, minatree79@yahoo.ca
  • Sat. June 25, Tiny Marsh, which is north of Barrie (part of the Biobllitz), Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sun. June 26, Durham Butterfly Blitz, James Kamstra, (905) 985-4497, james.kamstra@aecom.com
  • Wed. June 29, Hwy 60 Algonquin Park (lat-long 45.5667° & -78.4°), Rick Stronks, (613) 637-2828, rick.stronks@ontario.ca
  • Thurs. June 30 (July 1), Lake Dore (near Pembroke), Jean Brereton, (613) 625-2263, jbrereton@hughes.net
  • Fri. July 1, TEA Toronto East, Tom Mason, (905) 839-6764, coterc09@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 2, Windsor, Paul Pratt, (519) 966-5852, ojibway@citywindsor.ca
  • Sat. July 2, Long Point, Adam Timpf, cell (519) 429-4147, adam.timpf@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 2 (3), Manion Corners (near Ottawa), Jeff Skevington, (613) 759-1647 (w), (613) 720-2862 (h), jhskevington@gmail.com
  • Sun. July 3, Hamilton, Bill Lamond, 9 am meet at the church at SW corner of Concession 8 and Kirkwall Road, (519) 756-9546, bill-lamond@hotmail.com
  • Sun. July 3, Sunderland (north of Oshawa), James Kamstra, (905) 985-4497, james.kamstra@aecom.com
  • Sun. July 3, Skunk's Misery (southwest of London, meet at 8:30 at Newbury Hospital parking lot), Ann White, (519) 457-6586, doug.ann.white@rogers.com
  • Wed. July 6 (to be confirmed), Presqu'ile Prov., Park, David Bree, (613) 475-4324 x225, david.bree@ontario.ca
  • Sat. July 9, Kitchener (Huron Natural Area), 1 pm-4 pm, Josh Shea, (519) 741-3400 ext. 4177, joshua.shea@kitchener.ca
  • Sat. July 9, Haliburton Highlands, Ed Poropat, (705) 457-3018, ed.barb@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 9, Awenda Provincial Park (near Penetanguishene), Tim Tully, (705) 549-2231 X 225, awenda@csolve.net
  • Sat. July 9, Toronto Centre, John Carley, (416) 766-1330, carley.la@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 9 (10), MacGregor Point Prov. Park (near Port Elgin). Kathleen Chayer, 519-389-6232. fompp@btms.com
  • Sat. July 9 (16) Royal Botanical Garden (Burlington) Butterfly Count. Meet at RBG main centre, 680 Plains Rd W, Burlington. Felicia Radassao (905) 527-1158 x257 (or 1-800-694-4769, same ext.), fradassao@rbg.ca
  • Sun. July 10, Rondeau Prov. Park, Pilar Manorome, (519) 674-1774, Pilar.Manorome@ontario.ca
  • Thurs. July 14, Carden (east of Orillia) Alvar Butterfly Count, Laura Robson, 1-877-343-3532 x.257, laura.robson@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Laura or online at www.conservationvolunteers.ca). Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sat. July 16 (17), Petroglyphs Prov. Park (near Peterborough), Jerry Ball, 574 Douglas Ave. Peterborough, ON K9J 4L1, (705) 745-3272
  • Sat. July 16 (17), Cambridge (rare Charitable Research Reserve, starting 9:00 a.m. at Lamb's Inn (rare's administration building), 1679 Blair Road, to be led by Jenna Quinn jenna.quinn@raresites.org. To register, click here or call the office at 519-650-9336 ext. 111.
  • Sat. July 16. Clear Creek (near Long Point). Ann White. 519-457-6586.
  • Fri. July 22, Fenelon Falls (north of Lindsay), Dan Bone 705 887-4691, dan.bone13@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 23 (24), Hog Island (near Pembroke), Jean Brereton, (613) 625-2263, jbrereton@hughes.net
  • Tues. July 26 and Wed. July 27 (tentative), Science North (near Sudbury), Jacquie Bertrand, (705) 522-3701 ext. 280, bertrand@sciencenorth.ca
  • Sat. Aug. 6, Pelee Island Butterfly Count, Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com

2016 DRAGONFLY COUNTS (last updated July 4)

Format of this list is: Date(Rain date, if any), Location, Contact, Telephone, Email

  • June - August (multiple dates), Murphys Point Provincial Park (north of Kingston, near Perth), Bev Edwards, 613-284-1637, bave@sympatico.ca.
  • Thurs. June 30, Algonquin Odonate, Peter Mills, (613) 637-2828, peter.b.mills@ontario.ca
  • Sat. July 2, Hamilton Odonata Count, 9 am meet at the church at SW corner of Concession 8 and Kirkwall Road, Brenda Van Ryswyk, 905.336.1158 ext. 2282 (normal office hours), brendavanryswyk@gmail.com
  • Thurs. July 7, Minesing Wetlands (west of Barrie) Dragonfly and Damselfly Count, Laura Robson, 1-877-343-3532 x.257, laura.robson@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Laura or online at www.conservationvolunteers.ca).
  • Friday, July 15, Carden (east of Orillia) Alvar Dragonfly and Damselfly Count, Laura Robson, 1-877-343-3532 x.257, laura.robson@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Laura or online at www.conservationvolunteers.ca). Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sat. July 16, from 9 am to 3 pm.. Royal Botanical Garden (Burlington) Odonate Count. Meet at RBG main centre, 680 Plains Rd W, Burlington. Felicia Radassao (905) 527-1158 x257 (or 1-800-694-4769, same ext.), fradassao@rbg.ca
  • Sat. July 30 (31), Lake Dore (near Pembroke) Odonate, Christian Renault, 613-735-8395, Meet at the Wilberforce Township Park. (45°38'13.12"N, 77° 04'53.44"W), crenault5@gmail.com
  • Sun. Aug. 7, Pelee Island Dragonfly Count, Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com

BIOBLITZES 2017

Saturday, June 24th to Sunday, June 25th. Time: 11:00am to 11:00pm. Dahl Forest (Haliburton Highlands Land Trust), south of Gelert, Ontario in Haliburton County. Contact Ed Poropat, (705) 457-3018, ed.barb@sympatico.ca

------------------------------------------------

Top