ONature
Provincial Partner
Search our website

What we do

Meetings
Field trips
Insect counts
Ontario Insects newsletter
Butterfly atlas
Moth atlas
Contribute Records
Student symposium
Research grant
Publications
Home

About the T.E.A.

Our mission
History
Collecting code
People
Membership

About insects

General info
Insects of Ontario
Books
Endangered species
Gardening for butterflies
Rearing Presentation

Contact us

Links

Insect counts and bioblitzes 2018

Counts are a great opportunity to improve your identification skills. If you don't feel your level of expertise is high enough, you can always check with the count organizer. Often you can go along with a more experienced person. I hope you'll join at least one in your neighbourhood.

On some of the counts refreshments or camping facilities may be provided. Don't hesitate to contact the organizers if you have any questions. They would appreciate you letting them know as soon as possible if you will be participating, so they can plan more efficiently.

Dates are subject to change! Please check with the count organizer in advance. Also, at some counts people meet first thing in the morning, and then disperse; at others, people meet at noon; at still others, people meet at dinner.

Everyone is welcome, whatever your skill level. Note that many of these counts are done for the North American Butterfly Association and that there may be a nominal charge for participating. Please be prepared for the count activity with sunscreen, water, hat, food, and other items suggested by the count organizer. This list has been compiled by Carolyn King and Alan Macnaughton.

The Huron Natural Area in Kitchener had a butterfly count in 2017 but will not be having a count this year.

In 2017 a butterfly count was held at Killarney Provincial Park. Whether it will be held again in 2018 is uncertain as of the time of writing (March 22). This was the 2017 information: butterfly count at Killarney Provincial Park, ON Alyssa Deurwaarder 960 Hwy. 637 Killarney Provincial Park Killarney, ON P0M 2A0 alyssa.deurwaarder@ontario.ca

This year we have 30 butterfly counts, 9 odonate counts, and a number of bioblitzes as well.

 

2018 BUTTERFLY COUNTS (last updated July 6)

Format of this list is: Date (Rain date, if any), Location, Contact, Telephone, Email

  • DATE TBA, Royal Botanical Gardens (Burlington) Butterfly Count. Meet at RBG main centre, 680 Plains Rd W, Burlington. Lindsay Barr (905) 527-1158 x257 (or 1-800-694-4769, same ext.), lbarr@rbg.ca
  • Sat. June 23, Rice Lake Butterfly Count (south of Peterborough), Val Deziel, (705) 868-5374 (daytime), val.deziel@natureconservancy.ca
  • Sat. June 23 (24), Pinery Provincial Park & N.Lambton (meet at Visitor Centre at 8:30). Brenda Kulon, (519) 869-2833, kulon@cogeco.ca Please register ahead if possible. Register at the above number so as to gain entry to the provincial park.
  • Sat. June 23 (24). Muskoka Bala, Al Sinclair, (705) 645-2848, sinclair@muskoka.com (meet at 9:30 a.m. at Ragged Rapids Hydro Generating Station parking lot: latitude 45.018764, longitude -79.689492)
  • Sun. June 24, Oshawa, James Kamstra, (905) 985-4497, james.kamstra@aecom.com
  • Mon. June 25, Sandbanks Prov. Park, Yvette Bree, (613) 393-2565, yvette.bree@ontario.ca
  • Fri. June 29 (July 2): Lake Dore (near Eganville), Jean Brereton, (613) 625-2263, jbrereton@xplornet.ca
  • Sun. July 1, TEA Toronto East, Carolyn King, 905-720-2784, cking8000@gmail.com
  • Sun. July 1, Hamilton (9 am meet at the church at SW corner of Concession 8 and Kirkwall Road), Bill Lamond, (519) 756-9546, bill-lamond@hotmail.com
  • Sun. July 1(8), Skunk's Misery (southwest of London, meet at 8:30 at Newbury Hospital parking lot), George Prieksaitis, (647) 401-2038 (cell),(905) 469-9946 (home), george.w.prieksaitis@ca.ey.com
  • Wed. July 4 (to be confirmed; contact ahead), Presqu'ile Prov., Park, David Bree, (613) 475-4324 x225, david.bree@ontario.ca
  • Wed. July 4, Algonquin Park, Hwy 60 (east side: lat-long 45.5667° & -78.4°), Rick Stronks, (613) 637-2828, rick.stronks@ontario.ca
  • Sat. July 7, Awenda Provincial Park (near Penetanguishene), Tim Tully, (705) 549-2231 X 225, awenda@csolve.net
  • Sat. July 7, Long Point, Adam Timpf, cell (519) 429-4147, adam.timpf@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 7, Windsor, Tom Preney, (519) 966-5852, tpreney@citywindsor.ca
  • Sat. July 7, Otter Valley (Port Burwell, on Lake Erie), Joe Stephenson, (519) 874-4028, joestephenson11@mac.com
  • Sat. July 7 (8), Manion Corners (near Ottawa), Ken Allison, (613) 256-4283, k.r.allison@bell.net
  • Sat. July 7, MacGregor Point Prov. Park (near Port Elgin). Kathleen Chayer, 519-389-6232. fompp@bmts.com
  • Sun. July 8, Rondeau Prov. Park, Laura Penner, (519) 674-1772, Laura.Penner@ontario.ca
  • Sun. July 8, Sunderland (north of Oshawa), James Kamstra, (905) 985-4497, james.kamstra@aecom.com
  • Sat. July 14, Haliburton Highlands, Ed Poropat, (705) 457-3018, ed.barb@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 14, Toronto Centre, John Carley, (416) 766-1330, carley.la@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 14 (15), Cambridge (rare Charitable Research Reserve, starting 9 a.m. at Lamb's Inn, 1679 Blair Road, to be led by Jenna Quinn jenna.quinn@raresites.org. Register online or call the office at 519-650-9336.
  • Thurs. July 19 (20), Hog Island (near Pembroke), Jean Brereton, (613) 625-2263, jbrereton@xplornet.ca
  • Sat. July 21 (22), Petroglyphs Prov. Park (near Peterborough), Jerry Ball, 574 Douglas Ave. Peterborough, ON K9J 4L1, (705) 745-3272
  • Sun. July 22, Fenelon Falls (north of Lindsay), Dan Bone, 705 887-4691, dan.bone13@gmail.com
  • Wed. July 25 & Thurs. July 26, Science North (near Sudbury), Jacquie Bertrand, (705) 522-3701 ext. 280, bertrand@sciencenorth.ca
  • Thurs. July 26, Carden Alvar (east of Orillia) Butterfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or online at www.conservationvolunteers.ca). Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sun. July 29 (Aug. 5). Clear Creek (NE of Rondeau Provincial Park). (meet 8:30 am at 11110 Furnival Road in Rodney, Ont), George Prieksaitis (647) 401-2038 (cell) (905) 469-9946 (home), george.w.prieksaitis@ca.ey.com
  • Wed. Aug. 1, Pelee Island Butterfly Count, Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com

 

2018 DRAGONFLY COUNTS (last updated July 6)

Format of this list is: Date (Rain date, if any), Location, Contact, Telephone, Email

  • June - August (multiple dates), Murphys Point Provincial Park (north of Kingston, near Perth), Bev Edwards, (613) 284-1637, bave@sympatico.ca.
  • Fri. June 22. Odonate count of Royal Botanical Gardens, Burlington. This is part of the RBG bioblitz, so visit the RBG website after April 30 to register for that.
  • Thu. July 5, Algonquin Odonate, Peter Mills, peter.b.mills@hotmail.com
  • Fri. July 6, Minesing Wetlands (west of Barrie) Dragonfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or www.conservationvolunteers.ca. Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sat. July 7, Haliburton Highlands, Ed Poropat, (705) 457-3018, ed.barb@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 7(8), Hamilton Odonate Count, 9 am meet at the church at SW corner of Concession 8 and Kirkwall Road, Brenda Van Ryswyk, (905) 336-1158 ext. 2282 (normal office hours), brendavanryswyk@gmail.com
  • Fri. July 27, Carden Alvar (east of Orillia) Dragonfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or www.conservationvolunteers.ca. Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sat. July 28 (29), Lake Dore (near Pembroke) Odonate, Christian Renault, 613-717-3142, Meet at the Melissa Bishop Park. (45°38'13.12"N, 77° 04'53.44"W), crenault@gmail.com
  • Thurs. Aug. 2, Pelee Island Dragonfly Count, Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com

 

2018 Bioblitzes (last updated April 9)

Bioblitzes in Ontario are be listed at the Ontario bioblitz site, but the site is incomplete at the moment. Selected bioblitzes are listed below.

  • May 11-13 and September 21-23. ROM-sponsored bioblitzes in Durham Region.
  • June 9-10: Insect Bioblitz at Killbear Provincial Park on eastern Georgian Bay, two hours drive north of Toronto and 30 minutes north of the town of Parry Sound. The park is looking for experts/skill naturalists and is offering free tent-only camping to participants on Friday and Saturday nights. If you are interested in helping to blitz the insects of Killbear, please contact Martha Martens, martha.martens@ontario.ca. / daytime: 705-342-5492 ext. 2304.
  • June 22-23. RBG/Cootes to Escarpment EcoPark System BioBlitz in the Hamilton area, with headquarters of the bioblitz being the Royal Botanical Gardens. See https://secure.e-registernow.com/cgi-bin/mkpayment.cgi?state=3065
  • Noon July 21 to Noon July 22, Point Pelee National Park is holding the Pelee BioBlitz to celebrate and commemorate Pelee's 100th birthday The BioBlitz event will include things like expert guided surveys, amateur hikes, speakers, workshops, volunteer opportunities, kids activities etc. TEA people are welcome to come as an expert and be included in our schedule, or come instead as a regular participant or solo expert. Contact Heidi Brown (Heidi.brown@pc.gc.ca / daytime 519-322-5700 ext. 3333) as soon as possible to be included in the planning.
  • August 17-18: Murphys Point Provincial Park, located on Big Rideau Lake, approximately 20 minutes south of Perth.The Park is looking for taxon experts/skilled naturalists and is offering free camping to participants, along with food and water. If you are interested in volunteering to help as a taxon expert, lead an event or volunteer in some other way, please contact Tobi Kiesewalter, Sr Natural Heritage Education Leader, tobi.kiesewalter@ontario.ca.

 

------------------------------------------------

Top